Placeholder image

Samsung Electronics announces new leadership

November 1, 2017

The OEM has announced the appointment of three new Presidents as heads of the DS, CE, and IM Divisions of the company.

Earlier this month The Recycler reported that Samsung’s CEO was resigning his post. Now, Samsung has revealed the appointment of three new Presidents, Kinam Kim, Hyunsuk Kim and Dongjin Koh, who will be taking the helm of the company’s Device Solutions, Consumer Electrics and IT & Mobile Communications divisions respectively.

They are replacing Vice Chairman Oh-Hyun Kwon, Boo-Keun Yoon and Jong-Kyun Shin.

Samsung “will maintain the current three co-CEO management structure.”

Vice Chairman Kwon explained, “The next generation of leaders are well suited to accelerate the pace of innovation and address the demands of the connected world. They have proven track records with extensive experience and outstanding expertise in their fields.”

Mr Yoon and Mr Shin made a joint statement announcing their resignation in the wake of Mr Kwon’s earlier announcement. They said, “It is an honour and a privilege to have been part of the historic rise of Samsung Electronics. We are confident that our successors will keep the Company on its growth path.”

President Sang-Hoon Lee will also be giving up his position as CFO, effective immediately. He will succeed Mr Kwon as Chairman of the Board next month.

“In this time of transition, I look forward to SH’s insight as CFO to help guide the Board and its new executive members,” said Byung-Ki Lee, an independent director and Chairman of the Governance Committee of the Board. “In addition to overseeing the Company’s finances, SH was also in charge of running its global operations and these experiences will be a tremendous asset to the Board.”

Categories : Around the Industry

Tags :

Leave a Reply