The Recycler
  • Katun March Web Advert 2021
  • Static Control June 2022 Masthead Ad
  • Ninestar web banner November 2022 Masthead
  • Biuromax Web banner June 2022

Opinion: Impacts of war

March 4, 2022

In the David and Goliath war started by Mr Putin, the President of Russia and supported by his toadying collaborator, the President of Belarus, the human impacts on the ordinary people of Ukraine are unimaginable. 

Stefanie Unland, Managing Editor of The Recycler

As the editor of a B2B trade publication with readers in both the Ukraine and Russia, I never imagined the world could unfold so violently and quickly at the whim of a despot. But it did, and this morning as I write this, we hear the news that Russian forces were bombing a nuclear power station. Our prayers are for sanity to take control and peace to return to Ukraine.

Sadly, I don’t think that words from me will change Mr Putin’s mind. But as the philosopher John Stuart Mill said in 1867: 

“Let not any one pacify his conscience by the delusion that he can do no harm if he takes no part, and forms no opinion. Bad men need nothing more to compass their ends, than that good men should look on and do nothing. He is not a good man who, without a protest, allows wrong to be committed in his name, and with the means which he helps to supply, because he will not trouble himself to use his mind on the subject.”

The war has seen an outpouring of support for Ukraine and sanctions on Russia. For the office imaging industry, the impact is significant. Russia is a substantial market where the reuse of OEM and non-OEM consumables is the most significant part of the market. A market where reuse is the lion’s share and the OEM market share is much smaller.

The sanctions will impact toner, OPC, chip manufacturers and suppliers. Either because of direct sanctions or because Russian banks are now excluded from the SWIFT payment system, and customers cannot pay for goods. Or because the major trade credit insurers have withdrawn cover for Russia and Belarus.  

Perversely, products in transit to Russia will be diverted, probably to Europe, which should help improve inconsistencies in the supply chain.

We will leave the war reporting to the mainstream media. From now on, our coverage will focus on the human and market impacts the war has on the office imaging market.

Again, our prayers are for sanity to take control and peace to return to Ukraine.

Categories : World Focus

Tags : Chips OEM OPC Opinion Remanufacturing Reuse Russia Supply Chain Toner Ukraine War

  • GM Tech Web ad September 2022
  • Mito December 2022 Web banner
  • GPI December 2022 Web ad
  • Ink Tank december 2022 Web Advert
  • Static Control June 2022 Big & Bold Ad
  • Aster November 2022 Web advert
  • Apex Web Ad September 2022
  • IR Italiana Web ad January 2021
  • GM Technology Web 2022 Ad
  • HYB October 2022 Web banner
  • Zhono Web Ad October 2022
  • ITP Web ad January 2021
  • CET June 2022 Web ad
  • PCL Web ad January 2021
  • CTS New Ad March 2022
  • HYB October 2022 Web banner
  • ITP Web ad January 2021
  • PCL Web ad January 2021
  • CTS New Ad March 2022
  • CET June 2022 Web ad
  • Zhono Web Ad October 2022
  • CTS New Ad March 2022
  • HYB October 2022 Web banner
  • PCL Web ad January 2021
  • CET June 2022 Web ad
  • Zhono Web Ad October 2022
  • ITP Web ad January 2021

The Recycler, Wittas House, Two Rivers, Station Lane, Witney, OX28 4BH, United Kingdom | Tel: +44 (0) 1993 899800 | Fax : +44 (0) 1993 226899
©2006-2021 The Recycler - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy including cookie use

Web design Dorset | Websites by Mark